Watching Joe Cole mistakenly think he has a mic in his hand makes this the most entertaining Super Cup final I can remember pic.twitter.com/TKXOakJOIN
— Thomas Reid (@derbyshire_tom) August 14, 2019
Joe Cole forgot he wasn’t holding a microphone while appearing as a pundit during BT Sport coverage of Wednesday’s Super Cup final between Liverpool and Chelsea.
Jürgen Klopp’s Reds won 5-4 on penalties following a 2-2 draw at the BJK Vodafone Park in Istanbul as last season’s Champions League and Europa League winners faced off.
Joe Cole just basically said that VAR never overruled the penalty decision because it’s a female referee 😂😂
They couldn’t wait to get him off air 😂😂
— Jimmy McBride (@jimmymcbride1) August 14, 2019
During the televised programme, Cole was about to answer a question from host Jake Humphrey when he raised an empty hand to his mouth, quickly realising his mistake.
Cole played for both Chelsea and Liverpool during his career, as well as scoring 10 goals in 56 games for England.