📺
Galatasaray Under-14 captain Beknaz Almazbekov deliberately missed a penalty in a match against İstanbulspor
(Image: YouTube/Galatasaray)

VIDEO: Galatasaray Under-14 captain misses penalty on purpose

Sporting gesture from youngster.

Galatasaray Under-14 captain Beknaz Almazbekov deliberately missed a penalty against İstanbulspor as he felt it shouldn’t have been given.

Having cut inside from the left, the 13-year-old lost his footing as he entered the penalty area and hit the turf as an opposition defender protested his innocence.

https://twitter.com/official433/status/1110891924523810816

The referee didn’t hesitate in pointing to the spot, with Almazbekov stepping up himself to take the resultant kick with his side already 1-0 up.

He turned to face behind the goal wide to the goalkeeper’s left and sent the ball harmlessly in that direction so it went out for a goal kick.

https://twitter.com/SoccerAM/status/1110870322906128384

His sporting gesture saw him go viral, with former England striker and Match of the Day presenter Gary Lineker among those to offer plaudits.

https://www.instagram.com/p/Btjgle2lK1k/