📺
Erling Haaland goal that was ruled out during Dortmund vs Sevilla before a penalty was awarded from a previous phase of play
(Image: Twitter/Football on BT Sport)

VIDEO: Dortmund goal ruled out, penalty given from previous phase of play

Spot kick then retaken and Haaland booked for celebration.

https://twitter.com/btsportfootball/status/1369409520041082891

Erling Haaland had a goal ruled out then a penalty given from a previous phase of play during Borussia Dortmund vs Sevilla in the Champions League.

In a crazy eight-minute sequence at the Westfalenstadion on Tuesday, the Norwegian’s spot kick was then retaken before he was booked for his celebration.

48’: Haaland scores
50’: VAR disallows it
51’: VAR awards Dortmund penalty
52’: Haaland misses penalty
53’: VAR orders retake
54’: Haaland ⚽

In the time it takes you to read that you could just listen to @ErlingHaaland explain it 😂

(🎥 @UCLonCBSSports)pic.twitter.com/KsDiuigNrW

— B/R Football (@brfootball) March 10, 2021

Haaland thought he’d scored his second goal of the night only to see it overturned by VAR for a shove on a defender, but he was immediately handed another opportunity from twelve yards.

Sevilla goalkeeper Bono initially saved, with the La Liga side going on to launch a counter attack, but the referee reviewed it at the first break in play.

https://twitter.com/PurelyFootball/status/1369996530317369353

He deemed that the ‘keeper had come off his line too early and ordered a retake, which Haaland scored – and he got a yellow card for taunting his opponent while celebrating.

The match eventually finished 2-2, with the Bundesliga team winning 5-4 on aggregate in the Round of 16 tie.