Partick Thistle goal that was disallowed for not crossing line despite hitting net
(Image: Twitter/Partick Thistle FC)

VIDEO: Partick Thistle goal disallowed for not crossing line despite hitting net

Throw-in awarded instead.


🤔 Over the line? You decide. pic.twitter.com/tG24Xil8Md

— Partick Thistle FC (@PartickThistle) September 1, 2018

Partick Thistle had a goal ruled out for not crossing the line in their game against Greenock Morton, despite Kris Doolan’s shot clearly hitting the net.

In bizarre scenes, the striker’s blistering strike crashes in off the underside of the bar, rippling the inner part of the side-netting in the process.

Doolan wheels off to celebrate with his team-mates, but their joy is short-lived as referee Barry Cook disallows it following consultation with an assistant.

The home team players protest vigorously, only for Cook to award a throw-in.

At least it didn’t cost them the points, Chris Erskine’s goal handing them a 1-0 win on the day.